why do i do these things? i have no idea.

Posted: January 15, 2012 in Thoughts
Tags:

There is nothing that I do that I have less justification for doing than watching the completely awful, terrible, no-good TV show Bridezillas.

It is the complete worst of the marriage industrial complex on display, with frantic marriage-obsessed women acting like complete narcissists. If you were to learn everything about getting married from this show, you would spend your days drinking, forcing your bridesmaids and family to pay for everything, and then do everything, and then take the blame when the smallest thing goes wrong. Screaming, tearful breakdowns when the limo company refuses to take any of your crap and offers you a refund, because you don’t get the custom limo you ‘paid for.’ Your fiance gets viciously berated for trying to do something to save money, even if you’re already in for more then three times the budget you’ve agreed on at the very beginning. Woe be unto the tailor that has do do the dress alterations…

It’s really just awful.

First of all, if I ever get around to marrying somebody, I would want to love that person so much that any sort of commitment ceremony I participate in would be between the two of us. The thing is, the women on profiled on Bridezillas are under the impression that only one person is getting married, the bride. The groom is nothing but a prop. It  removes all sense of marriage as  a bringing together of two people who want to share their lives with each other.

It makes me uncomfortable to watch people spend so much money on a single day. How can you be looking forward to the rest of your life when you are putting you and your SO into tens of thousands of dollars worth of debt? When you are lying about money, and drinking, and strippers While you are being recorded! So you can be on TV! WHERE EVERYONE IS GOING TO SEE THAT YOU WERE A LIAR! You think that juicy little detail about you going over to participate in a threesome with the tattoo artist that branded your fiance with a PROPERTY OF tat and bringing the camera crew that’s recording your every move days before your wedding is NOT going to make it onto television? What? Seriously.

It really paints this picture of female insanity. ALL YOU GOTTA DO IS GET MARRIED.

EVERYTHING IS GONNA BE OKAY IF YOU HAVE A GOOD MARRIAGE.

IF YOU’RE PRETTY, YOU AIN’T GOT NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT.

IF YOU GOT MONEY, THEN YOU DON’T HAVE TO CARE.

IF YOU GOT A GUY, THEN YOU ARE A TOTALLY COMPLETE WOMAN.

THEN… LIFE WILL BE AWESOME.

SO. WORK ON SELF-ACTUALIZING GETTING MARRIED.

It boggles my mind.

Why do I watch it? Oh, god, why?

I think at the core of it… It makes me feel better about myself.

I am not one of those people who is an obvious bitch to people. I am not in the best position in the world. I have an okay job, but it pays shit. But…

I am not these people.

I appreciate what I have in my life. My job is very school and hobby friendly. I get along with people.

That’s why, almost every Wedding Sunday! on WEtv I’ll turn it on. No matter what happens in my life, I at least have my priorities in the right place

Leave a Reply

